Areley Kings & Stourport Labour

News from Areley Kings & Stourport

New Judo Club Premises

Posted by labourblogger on September 28, 2008

Jamie Shaw working hard for Stourport and Areley Kings.

Planning Application : New Judo Club Premises, Zortech Ave, Kidderminster

The above site is within Stourport, despite its Kidderminster address. It is in the Green Belt.

In a previous blog, I explained why I believed there were exceptional circumstances for granting permission in this case. Stourport Town Council agreed with me and I represented it at the district council’s Development Control meeting on 9th September, at which the final decision was to be taken. The officer report and presentation recommended refusal, but the committee members agreed with me and granted approval.

I believe that the decision will secure the future of this high-achieving judo club, but will not harm the function of the Green Belt here, ie, to maintain the open space between Stourport and Kidderminster.

Leave a comment